The Edward Ginsberg Center for Community Service and Learning

Madelin Pound House in sunlight

Our Advisory Boards voice the needs, concerns, and ideas of community members, students and faculty as they relate to the mission and work of the Ginsberg Center. Through regular meetings, the Boards provide input to Ginsberg Center staff regarding programs, initiatives, and direction of the Center. Throughout their time on the Board, members promote the ideals of the Ginsberg Center, and represent Ginsberg at the University and beyond.


Community Advisory Board

The goal of the Community Advisory Board is to benefit from feedback and insight from a broad set of community champions to assist the Ginsberg Center in advancing mutually beneficial partnerships between the University of Michigan and the community. The Community Advisory Board helps to support the Ginsberg Center’s aim in creating stronger relationships between the community and the University of Michigan, in order to increase capacity, improve quality of life, and/or solve problems facing social sector institutions or groups in the community. Made up of community advocates, non-profit leaders and government officials from across Washtenaw County, the Community Advisory Board meets formally twice a year.  

Community Advisory Board Members

  • Bryce Allmacher, Ann Arbor Housing Commission
  • Dayna Benoit, Washtenaw County Health Department
  • Christine Crockett, Old Fourth Ward Association and Ann Arbor Historical Foundation
  • Don Deatrick, Hire MI Vets
  • Teresa Duhl, Freedom House Detroit
  • Linda Edwards-Brown, Community Leader
  • Jason Frenzel, Huron River Watershed Council & Washtenaw Area Volunteer Coordinators
  • Taryn Gal, Michigan Organization on Adolescent Sexual Health (MOASH)
  • Carole Gibson, Another Ann Arbor, Inc.
  • Carrie Hammerman, NEW
  • Caitlin Koska, 826 Michigan
  • Anna Lemler, Liberate! Don’t Incarcerate, Coalition for Re-envisioning Our Safety (CROS), Freedom Teams
  • Gary Munce, Chelsea Senior Center
  • Aryeh Perlman, Brilliant Detroit
  • Nancy Shore, Ann Arbor Public Schools
  • Jacob Singer, Jewish Family Services of Washtenaw County
  • Annette Sobocinski, Child Care Network
  • Regan Stahl, SOS Community Services
  • Leah Tessman, Habitat for Humanity

Student Advisory Board


The Student Advisory Board is composed of 15-21 student leaders representing multiple identities, diverse experiences, and a range of involvement in student organizations (particularly those that focus on service, advocacy, and/or political activism) at the University of Michigan. Members are selected through an application process in the winter term. To learn more about the SAB, click here. 

Student Advisory Board Members

  • Amanda Putti
  • Ataia Templeton
  • Avelyn Men
  • Benjamin Leavitt
  • Chandra Cox
  • Greta Hoffman
  • Hallie Younglas
  • Hillie Teller
  • Jenna Doll
  • Jessica Culverhouse
  • Jordyn Ives
  • Julia Kassab
  • Mariam Habring
  • Melissa Arreola
  • Reginald Galanto
  • Samara Kamal
  • Seth Flynn
  • Simi Neeluru
  • Sophia Morehouse
  • Tyler Simpson Pouncey

Faculty Advisory Board

The Faculty Advisory Board is comprised of 8-12 faculty who provide advice and feedback, and broaden the Ginsberg Center’s engagement with faculty across campus to advance its role as a Community Engagement Center for the social sector.  The Board’s work plan emphasizes translating needs and priorities defined by the community into potential research questions and agendas, and teaching opportunities; and convening conversations, learning communities and collaborations around them.

Faculty Advisory Board Members